DIY Baby Lock

I am a self proclaimed fashion junkie. I love great dresses, jackets, accessories and most of all shoes! Since the birth of my child I have always known that I have to make some modifications to make our home safe such as moving medications as well as sharp objects to out of reach places. We have been very successful with keeping our little guy safe. I was a bit unprepared for the toddler stage of mimicking mommy. I welcome this stage with open arms. After all, to mimic someone is the highest form of compliment. However, this is an activity that is better supervised as my objects of desire soon become damaged if left in the hands of a two year old for too long.

After buying all of the child locks I could find, I have progressed and have “locked” all pertinent drawers, cupboards and doors. The one lock I could not locate was for a sliding wooden closet door. So, being me, I made one myself. Check it out.

20120911-165906.jpg

I used a wooden dowel, a wooden dowel knob, white paint and wood glue. I began by gluing the dowel and knob together. Then I painted the knob. I chose white since my closet door is white and I wanted them to match.

20120911-170125.jpg

I drilled a hole in my closet door. I didn’t go all the way through the other side. Then I measured how long the dowel would need to be in order to fit in the hole. Then I cut the wooden dowel to fit. Insert cut, painted dowel.

Thanks for checking out today’s post. All posts and creations are done by Jacquelynn Knoll.

Leave a Reply

