Holiday Wreaths

20121218-144103.jpg

Every year I find myself celebrating the various holidays of the year by making a coordinating wreath. Not wanting to forgo this tradition for the winter holiday season, I got busy with my hot glue gun, cinamon sticks, ribbon,and pine cones. For extra bling I found some fabulous glittered spirals as well as some crystal stalks that reminded me of the rock candies you can buy on a stick.

I ended up making two wreaths in this style. I made one extra large wreath. This hangs on our front porch to greet our guests.

20121210-120015.jpg

The second, a smaller wreath shown here, I made for a family friend. Wreaths are a great gift for friends who are just out on their own in their new home or anyone who has yet to have a selection of decorations yet.

20121210-120300.jpg

In an effort to make a more sophisticated wreath, I began scanning the Internet. I had wanted to use ribbon or tulle for a softer look. I played around here with some wire ribbon. Having the wire ribbon allowed for the loops to stand up for a more textured look. I also added cranberry and small pine cones for floral detail which added a nice holiday touch of color and to create a nice focal point on the wreath

20121210-114430.jpg

I decided to keep going and create a tulle knotted wreath. This is simple to do with a very nice “touchable” effect to it. To create this wreath simply measure out and cut tulle in 12-18 inch panels. Wrap these panels around the wreath and secure with a standard knot and repeat.

20121210-114502.jpg

When I went to add a focal point to this wreath I discovered my new and latest obsession. FELT! Felt flowers to be more specific. So simply yet so versatile!

20121210-121911.jpg

There will definitely be more posts on felted flower creations. As for now, here is the final creation and my favorite wreath of the season.

20121210-122110.jpg

Thanks for checking out today’s post.

All posts and creations are done by Jacquelynn Knoll.

Leave a Reply

