Festive Holiday Cone Trees

20121218-114453.jpg

Looking for a fun and simple way to spruce up your holiday decorations? Try using old or new garland or other festive materials to create fabulous and personal decorations. This craft was easy and fun to create. The directions are pretty straight forward. I started with two types of cones, styrofoam and cardboard. I used hot glue and was unsure if the styrofoam would be strong enough to hold the bond between the glue and materials.

20121218-122734.jpg

Fortunately, the foam cones worked just fine. Starting at one end of the cone, either top or bottom of tree form. I simply wrapped the garland around the form securing it with glue where it was needed. Continue this pattern until you reach the other end and secure at the ends.

20121218-134103.jpg

For the tree with presents, I had three sizes of faux gift boxes and just gradually used smaller package sizes as I worked my way up the tree to keep the scale in alignment to maintain the tree shape. The snowball tree was done in a similar way. I just played around with the different sizes to get the look I wanted. I used plastic snowflakes attached to wooden skewer sticks for tree toppers. The great part about this creation is that you can have fun and used whatever materials you may have on hand.

I hope you enjoyed this post.

Thanks for checking out today’s post. All posts and creations are done by Jacquelynn Knoll.

Leave a Reply

