Felt Rose & Ribbon Accent Ball

20130112-145834.jpg

I have been on a felt kick lately. What can I say, I love the plush soft feel and look to these creations. With the felt rose ball as no exception, each felt project has been so fun to make and create.

For this creation you will need a foam ball, felt, glue and ribbon.

20130112-150206.jpg

Begin by cutting out felt circles. The size can be to your liking and selected scale. For my project I used a 3 inch ball, making my final accent piece almost 10 inches in diameter. I like this size and may use it when I gift this type of piece. However, selecting the larger ball meant I had to use almost 100 circles! To turn your circles into roses, take your circles, fold them in half, half again and then one last time. This is a total of three folds to each felt circle.

20130112-150655.jpg

Before you glue your roses be sure to start with attaching the ribbon to the ball. Tie a knot in the end of the desire ribbon length and glue knot side of ribbon to the foam ball. Then, glue each folded felt rose to the foam ball. I chose to add a little glue to my last fold of every rose in order to help the fold hold while applying them to the ball. To attach the felt to foam I hot glued each base (the pointed side) to the exterior of the foam ball.

20130112-151009.jpg

Continue this until the entire ball is covered. It helps to gently push each felt rose close when applying them and the pressure will help them hold the fold. Once done you will have a beautiful home accent or gift for a girlfriend.

20130112-151436.jpg

20130112-151455.jpg

Thanks for checking out today’s post.

All posts and creations are done by Jacquelynn Knoll.

Leave a Reply

