Plastic Bag Use: House Plant Stuffing

20130112-180407.jpg

We all know the impact plastic bags have on our community. They are responsible for pollution and damage to wildlife and landscapes all over our vast planet. Although, I may not have a solution for stopping the production of these bags, I can offer a quick tip for a way to put these bags to good use. They can be used as stuffing for house plants. Use bags to pad a houseplant they may fare better in a smaller more controllable environment, like the pot it came in from the nursery.

I picked up two Italian cypresses for my dinning room. I love they way they smell and they will serve well as a frame for the dinning room window. I have only seen these in outdoor landscapes such as backyards and in parks. Mature cypresses serve well as property boarders as they a known to grow well into the sky. It wasn’t until recently that I saw some that were small enough to pass off as house plants. I picked up two that were only about three feet tall. This will allow me ample time to utilize these plants as indoor plants.

Once these babies grow I can transplant them into bigger planter pots. In the mean time I needed a way to secure the small planter pot. These bags were the perfect solution.

20130112-220342.jpg

After filling each pot with plastic bags, then cover with your choice of indoor houseplant moss. Below is a picture of the completed project.

20130116-184443.jpg

Thanks for checking out today’s post.

All posts and creations are done by Jacquelynn Knoll.

Leave a Reply

