Table Refurbishing

20130114-193308.jpg

So if you read my blog you will know that I am a huge fan of the whole 3 R’s of life (renew, reuse and recycle). I can be found scrummaging through our local goodwill, which is a pretty good one, for treasures and baubles of all sorts. On my last trip, I was fairly successful at scoring some good deals. I found this hexagon coffee table. I was instantly drawn to its original and unusual shape. I was also fascinated with the detail on the top of the table. The top has this elaborate floral carved design.

20130114-195142.jpg

Originally I thought it was wood but upon further inspection I realized that the top “carved” piece is actually a plastic mold. None the less very pleasing to the eye. This table also has built in storage underneath. The very best part was the $12. price. Love it, SOLD!

This piece still needed some love. The pull handles were very distressed as well the plexiglass piece was very smudged up.

20130114-194308.jpg

The top was easy enough to clean with simple window cleaner and towel, yay. I polished up the wood with wood polish which again cleaned up fairly easy. A for the pull handles. I had some brass polish in my cupboard and thought I could give it a go and see what damage I could cause.

Below is the before and after picture. Wow! What a difference a little elbow grease can do!

20130114-194603.jpg

After the handles were polished I put attached them back on the table. I decided this was enough of a facelift for this piece for now. In the future I may come back and decide to paint it and change out the handles. The plexiglass could also be swapped out for glass. I may do this after my children are grown. For now, surprisingly I welcome the plexiglass it’s safer. I think that this table was a great addition to our home and will last for years to come with future face lifts available to update this piece. The possibilities are endless!

20130114-194847.jpg

20130114-194857.jpg

Thanks for checking out today’s post.

All posts and creations are done by Jacquelynn Knoll.

Leave a Reply

