Heart Felt Valentines

20130116-132725.jpg

Hearts, hearts and more hearts. I am having so much fun this season with Valentines crafts. I recently went through all of my decorations for the entire year and organized them into plastic bins. While doing this I noticed I only had a shoe box worth of decorations for the Valentines season. How could this be! Now that I am a mom, I love being able to go all out for each holiday. I can’t go all out without any decorations. This had to be remedied immediately! Rather than go out and buy a bunch of premade decoration, I craft. So here I am, blogging about yet another yet much needed DIY Valentines creation.

During this past Christmas season I picked up this antique brass spiral ornament tree. It retails at Crate and Barrel for $59.95. Additional Tree Options. Being the thrifty shopper that I am, I found it at Tuesday Morning for $19.95! Anyway, after the holidays were over, I could not pack away this tree. I decided to display it a little longer by just updating the holiday that it was incorporated with. I came up with little felt hearts by searching the Internet for inspiration. I instantly fell in love with these felt hearts by Two Girls Being Crafty

For this creation, you will need: felt, scissors, sewing needle, thread (I used embroidery thread, which I split into two. Each piece of thread had three of six threads from the original piece) and batting. I also used a small dowel, about the size of a chopstick, to help me stuff each heart. I wanted to do a variation of this idea. That’s when the tree popped into my mind. I would need to make 24 hearts, since the tree comes with 24 hanging hooks.

20130116-140626.jpg

Hand stitch each heart almost closed with a simple quick stitch. Then stop and stuff each heart. Finish by continuing the quick stitch to close the heart. Once you’ve sewn enough hearts, attach the hanging hook in the crook of each heart and hang them onto the tree. I ran each hook through a loop in the embroidery thread that was used to sew each heart.

20130116-140834.jpg

Below is the finished heart felt tree display. I am very pleased with how it turned out. For added flair I added red chargers and picked up some glitter heart table spread form the The Dollar Store for, you guessed it, $1.00! Actually $2.00 since I grabbed two packages.

20130116-141144.jpg

Thanks for checking out today’s post.

All posts and creations are done by Jacquelynn Knoll.

Leave a Reply

