Lemon Rind Vinegar

20130327-000125.jpg

I am writing today to tell you about the wonders of Lemon. I love lemons! My whole family loves lemons. When I was growing up my parents had a very large lemon tree from which we always received an abundance of lemons. Once I moved out and on my own I found that I did not have the luxury of owning a lemon tree. Lemons, where I live, can cost upwards of $1.00 per lemon. This issue was squashed with the purchase of our first home. We scored a house with a backyard full of fruit trees. This bounty included two (2) lemon trees that also were very giving during their fruiting season.

Once again finding myself with plenty of lemons I was very happy. We lived there for a decade utilizing and devouring the delicious fruits from own trees. I like lemons enough that I often would peel and eat me outright. However, currently with my illness, my body does not tolerate much citrus. This is so hard for me but the adverse reaction keeps me from enjoying lemons straight from the branch. Not to be defeated, I began researching lemons. It is the D-Limomene that holds most of the magic of lemon rinds. There are so many great all natural things you can do with lemons that I encourage you to click on the link for more information.

We have since moved from our home with all of its marvelous fruiting trees. The new home has no fruit trees. This is a task on my honey-do list. However buying and planting trees is a process and takes time. One we have yet to begin. In the meantime, we are fortunate enough to have neighbors who have a lemon tree. They allow it to over grow which is nice for us because there is never a shortage of fresh lemons.

The lemon rind vinegar is such an effective, anti-bacterial and non-toxic cleanser. Once you try this cleaner you may never go back to store bought cleansers. This cleaning concoction is so versatile. From tubs and toilets to streak free windows and mirrors, leaving each room with an amazingly fresh smell of lemons. In addition to the cleaning benefits, this is completely non-toxic, chemical free and can even used to flavor your salad.

20130327-004108.jpg

The recipe is pretty straight forward. Simply fill a container with fresh cut lemon rinds. The measurement is roughly one (1) rind of a lemon per two (2) cups white vinegar. Once the container is full of rinds pour white vinegar into container and seal. Let this sit for ten (10) days up to three weeks. Strain out the liquid and put it into a spray bottle to use during weekly chores. You could even store any excess in the refrigerator for cooking or salads.

20130402-172622.jpg

Thanks for checking out today’s post.

All creations and posts are created by Jacquelynn Knoll.

Leave a Reply

