Kitchen Scrap Green Onions

20130411-111936.jpg

One of my favorite childhood memories is watching my grandmother tend to her garden. Her garden was amazing to walk through exploring all of the blooming and fruiting plants. She loved to have fresh vegetables and fruits ready whenever we would come to visit. My father shares this same passion for gardening. He maintains a fabulous garden, grape vines and amazing fruit trees in his backyard garden. My husband and I have always enjoyed gardening as well and I wanted to pass this pleasant pass time activity along to my son. He loves fruits and vegetables, as do we, getting him to eat them is the easy part. However, when I asked him where his apple came from the other day, his response was “from mommy.” After a quick giggle it hit me that we needed to get growing on our spring garden. I recently read that you can start a garden from kitchen produce scraps. Brilliant! After all, we want to teach him where his food comes from why not start our garden with items he is familiar with.

Green Onion is just one of the vegetables that you can start a new plant from. You have to work with what you have and I had green onions, so that is what we used. I actually am very excited to be growing our own green onions. We utilize them in our cooking all the time. Green onions don’t last very long so finding many ways to incorporate them helps to use them up. A consequence of not using green onions sooner than later is that the onions will go bad quickly. One of my pet peeves during the weekly refrigerator clean out is finding unused, rotted onions in the bottom of the produce drawer. Having a fresh supply that I can now cut and use as needed is fabulous to me.

Once you have cut up your green onions save the bottom ends. Place the cut ends in a bowl of fresh water over night or up to three days. You will notice the cut end will begin to grow from the fresh water supplied the the roots. After your onions have begun to grow, place these sprouts, root side down, I to fresh soil. Once all of your onions are set in there soil bed, water the soil thoroughly. Keep watering weekly after your onions appear to be set in there new home. After a few weeks you will have a fresh supply of green onions that can be cut on an as need basis. The onion plant will continue to grow from the bottom supplying you year round. This is so simply my three year old did all of the steps himself, with mommy’s supervision of course!

20130411-115234.jpg

This project can be done with pineapples, celery stalk bases, lettuce stalk bases (single stalks do not work), green onion, garlic as well as tubers such as potato (all varieties), beets, carrots and radishes. You can also grow sprouts from any seeds that you can gather from fruits. A larger version of seed planting comes with the avocado seed, secured slightly submerged in a cup of water the seed will begin to sprout after a few days to a week. Basically have fun experimenting which kitchen cast offs will grow. We have been enjoying watching our plants grow. I cannot wait to show my son that we can cook with what we just stuck in the dirt a couple of weeks ago. This activity is a great way to show little ones the plant life cycle.

Thanks for checking out today’s post.

All posts and creations are done by Jacquelynn Knoll

Leave a Reply

