Sewing Needle Pad

20130507-123030.jpg

Lately, I have been sewing a lot. I recently helped my grandmother clean out her sewing room, as I have mentioned in previous posts. Thus making me the proud recipient of yards of beautiful fabric and intriguing trims. I really do believe in the old saying, “everything happens for a reason.” In this case, I had been so consumed with crafting out projects that I have wanted to do that I nearly left my sewing and my machine machine in the dust.

In actuality, my son and I had been making puppets one day and in my son’s excitement he, and his then two year old coordination, whacked my machine and broke it. I was too amazed that such a small creature could do such damage that I couldn’t bet mad. Plus, this gave me the best opportunity and excuse to buy a new machine. The idea of a new machine was thrilling and intimidating. I had known my old machine since college. A new machine meant learning a new system. However once I got my feet wet online researching new machines I was down to learn something new.

I decided to take my time in this purchase and in the interim I began fulfilling all of the crafting projects that I wanted to do. I did decide on a machine and I made a commitment and purchased my first high end Janome Sewing Machine. I hate to admit it but it took me a little while to use my machine. Such a fabulous machine with so many more options made me a little nervous. Now that I had so much new (to me) material to utilize I decided to begin using my new machine. I have been in love since I flipped the power switch on! It’s amazing.

In all of this sewing I had run into a little snag. During my larger projects that require more pinning I was lacking a place to discard the mass of needles. I have the standard self standing pin cushion as pictured below. Yet during active sewing there was an issue with timing and moving needles.

20130507-125316.jpg

So in my true 3R (renew, re-use, recycle) fashion I came up with a solution. For this creation all you need is a flat magnet and some tape. I found some old flat magnets, the kind often attached to a phone book when you get it. Anyway, tape the magnet face down on your sewing table near your machine and that it it. The needles are attracted to the magnet and won’t fall on the floor. The magnet serves as a sewing needle pad while you are working on a detailed project.

20130507-130025.jpg

20130507-130047.jpg

20130507-130101.jpg

Thanks for checking out today’s post.

All post and creations are done by Jacquelynn Knoll.

Leave a Reply

