One Quick Alteration Trick

20130511-192854.jpg

Today’s post is a quick one about alterations. More specific dress strap alteration. So I recently got a great summer dress from Solow Clothing that I love. The only problem I found was that the straps were a little long and these in particular did not have a self adjusting loop. What’s a DIYer to do… Normally I would unstitch the straps at the back then shorten and reattach.

However today’s strap change was different. I chose to gather the two straps together in the back, where they would cross if they were criss crossed. I ran this through the sewing machine on a simple zig zag stitch. The result in the picture below. I didn’t take a before picture but I can assure you I was in fear of a serious wardrobe malfunction. As a mommy I bend over all the time picking up whatever falls to the ground. Now I can move freely and my dress stays in place.

20130511-193358.jpg

Thanks for checking out today’s post.

All post and creations are done by Jacquelynn Knoll.

Leave a Reply

