Strawberry Coconut Smash Cookies

20130612-204353.jpg

As I have mentioned before I live with a chronic illness. Although I am diagnosed as a Cyclic Vomiting patient, there isn’t too much in terms of research, treatment or cures. In an effort to reduce the frequency of attacks, I decided to change or rather update my eating habits and overall diet. The diet is designed to change the flora in my GI system not to loose any weight. I was researching for my condition and a lot of patients recommended a book called Breaking the Vicious Cycle. I have been suffering for over 15 years chronically with this inconvenience and have tried so many angles of attack on this condition with no avail I figure by keeping optimistic and abreast of new treatments I am only helping myself.

This new eating plan seems easy but let me tell you that in the beginning it isn’t easy, I have had challenging moments where my cravings almost win, yet I am keeping my eye on the prize. Well today was a major baking sweet craving day. Only problem every part of that craving is illegal for my eating plan. What’s a person to do? Well I made the best of it and created a good little recipe that adheres to the diet and still satisfies my cravings.

Strawberry Coconut Smash Cookies requires all natural ingredients free of all of those bad carbs. Ingredients are 3/4 cup coconut oil, 1 cup honey, 2 eggs and 1 egg white. Blend on medium speed or until mixed well. Mix in 1 1/2 cups coconut flour and 1/2 cup finely shredded unsweetened coconut. Add 2 cups sliced strawberries, 1 teaspoon salt, 1 teaspoon baking soda, 2-3 teaspoons pure vanilla extract. Mix all ingredients then using 2 spoons scoop spoonfuls onto parchment lined cookie sheets. Last few steps smash each cookie down with a fork. These cookies look the same one as they do going in so make sure your cookies look the way you want them to prior to baking. Bake cookies at 350 degrees for 15 minutes or until edges begin to brown.

20130612-210930.jpg

Thanks for checking out today’s post.

All posts and creations are done by Jacquelynn Knoll

Leave a Reply

