Dim Sum Reheated

20130815-113914.jpg

It has been some time since my last blog post. I have a good reason, we are expanding our family and having a second child. I have been busy growing a little human. Apparently, pregnancy is a bit of a challenge for me. However, we have always known if we were committed to having a child we would be inclined to have siblings. Plus, I am up for the challenge since the reward is far greater than any suffering I may endour. Anyway, as pregnancy goes, so do a woman’s cravings.

Early on I craved for Chinese food, more specifically Cantonese Dim Sum. For those of you who are unfamiliar with this type of food, “Dim sum refers to a style of Cantonese food prepared as small bite-sized or individual portions of food traditionally served in small steamer baskets or on small plates.” (Wikipedia, 2013) I have a local restaurant that specializes in these delicacies and as my husband states, I am notorious for over ordering. I like to argue this by pointing out that I just like to order enough food that we can have it for the next days lunch. Makes complete sense, right?

Between this pregnancy and my general loving of this food, I frequent our local New Canton restaurant on a regular basis. So much so, that waitstaff has gotten to know me well. On our last visit, I had ordered as I usually do adding just a bit more for the next day. However, this time as my bags were brought back to the table one of the staff approached me and gave me a great simple tip for reheating my yummy steamed deliciousness. She just said steam these when you want to eat them later on. It was so simple yet profound to me that I needed to share it with you.

This post is serves as a simple instructions on reheating Dim Sum leftovers. It requires you to steam your pieces in a steamer pot rather than utilizing an oven or microwave to do so. This was such a great suggestion. It allows the food to remain in its prepared form without over cooking it or melting sauces. One of my favorites that I like to order is steamed baus, which are basically steamed buns filled with a variety of meats or custards. I also enjoy Lo Mai Gai (lotus leaf wrapped rice) and specialty dumplings. All of which can taste very different if cooked more when reheated.

Fortunately for this task I have a large pasta cooking pot which is a colander style basket that rests inside a larger pot which holds water. Similar to a double boiler. In addition to pasta, I utilize this pot as a steamer for crab legs, veggies and now Dim Sum. The larger pot allows for boiling water and the insert keeps the food clear from sitting in water. The food rests in the bottom of the internal insert. I just fill the base of my “steamer” with food until the bottom is full. I don’t double stack anything. The individual pieces would stick together and flavors could blend changing the food which is what we’re trying to avoid in the first place. I also begin with the larger pieces first, since they often take the longest. I suppose wax paper could be used to create layers within the steamer. This would allow reheating more food at one time. However for me it’s usually a single serving snack that I’m working with. In the end the reheated finished product is just as yummy as it was the first time around.

20130815-104207.jpgThanks for checking out today’s post.

All posts and creations are done by Jacquelynn Knoll.

Leave a Reply

