Doily Spider Webs

20130924-120348.jpg

It’s that time of year again. Cooler weather is setting in and the trees have begun to change the colors of their leaves into beautiful hues of orange, red, yellow and brown. With The Fall season vastly approaching upon us I have fallen right in line. Being the mother of a very active toddler, and with the unpredictable Fall weather drawing us indoors, it is imperative to have plenty of attention grabbing and engaging activities planned. This helps to keep us all somewhat sane and it is fun at the same time. In preparation I have begun planning and mapping out the various activities that l keep in an activity binder ready for action. At the first sign of rain we can easily find and select an activity that keeps us occupied until the weather improves or nap time, which ever arrives first.

To kick off for Fall we made doily spider webs with orange plastic spiders now happily residing on them. This creation was completed off of impulse so I was not able to capture pictures of the project during the process. The instructions are pretty straight forward. My son and I began by painting four (4) pre made woven Christmas doily ornaments with black acrylic paint and a sponge brush. I simply put the doilies on a large piece of butcher paper, gave my son a paint loaded sponge brush and let him apply the paint. I went through afterward and touched them up to ensure the doilies were fully painted black from their original white color.

Once the paint has dried we attached bright orange faux spider rings to each web. Remember my son is still a toddler so our scare factor in the home Halloween decor arena is going to be quiet minimal for a few more years. Plus the orange spiders stood out well against the black webs. I wanted to hang our new webs where they could be admired by the family and any house guests we host this season. Like any proud parent, I chose the kitchen refrigerator, my son agreed that this was the perfect spot for his latest craft creations. In order to hang these spider webs I utilized very small hooks attached to suction cups. Each web hangs on a separate suction hook. I must admit I love seeing these little webs, mostly because it was so fun to make these with my little one and they remind me of him every time I’m in the kitchen.

20130924-123425.jpg

Thanks for checking out today’s post.

All creations and post are done by Jacquelynn Knoll.

Leave a Reply

